First of all, I'm no expert, but I've read a lot of books on the subject and gone to many courses and TFG events and conferences.

My advice is to read, read, read. To start.

Here is my book list:
The first is Steve Chappell's book: "A Timber Framer's Workshop", I know him personally. I took one of his courses. And I've been to many of his raisings of his frames built by his students.
Then I've read both Jack Sobon's books; 'Timber Frame Construction', and 'Build a Classic Timber-Framed House'. I also know Jack personally; I took a course that he taught. This Dutch style house/shed/barn frame that I had in my yard is the style we, as students, built at the workshop. I see or talk to him every couple of months. I went out to the workshop raising a few yeas ago with my wife and daughter to see the students raise another frame. That one was different and won't be taken apart and shipped out. That's what we did. We put it together and it stood there for two hours and we took it apart and shipped it out.
Also, I've read Tedd Benson's 'Building the Timber Frame House' with help from James
Gruber. This book was very good on how to use templates and laying out
timbers and order of making cuts. Also, Fine Homebuilding's Great Houses,
Timber-Frame Houses. This is a collection of articles that were published in
Fine Homebuildings magazine, so there is no one author. The ISBN number is
1-56158-150-x put out by Taunton Books and Videos, Tauton product number
070279. You should be able to find it with all those numbers.
Another one of my favorites is 'Home building and Woodworking in Colonial America' by C. Keith Wilbur. Put out by The Globe Pequot Press; ISBN 1-56440-019-0.
Also, there is one more that I have read, sold by the Timber Framer's Guild store. It's a
book of articles written by different authors and it called 'Timber Frame
Joinery & Design Workbook'. I've read this one and it's got a lot of
information in it.