Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Historic Building codes applied to old frames? #8107 08/09/01 03:51 PM
K
Kurt Westerlund Offline OP
OP Offline
K
First cheers to Joel, Rudy and the other TFG folks who donate an incredible amount in all that they do for timber framing. Thank You.

I'm an architecural intern currently working on a non-timber frame historic renovation/reconstruction in CA. Because of my buildings historic status I have been able to apply the California Historic Building Code which gives a bit of latitude in code interpretation. This is my first experience with the CHBC so I was wondering if anyone has had experience using historic codes to avoid grade stamping and other modern code hurdles?

Kurt

Re: Historic Building codes applied to old frames? #8108 08/14/01 11:47 AM
R
Rudy R Christian Offline
R
Kurt,

Thanx for bringing this subject to our attention. I have not had any experience with historic building codes. It sounds like a great idea and I would suggest everyone (including myself) check with their State Historic Preservation Office to determine wether such a code exists that would apply.

Much of our work involves barns and outbuidings which are timber framed. Their agricultural status usually exempts them from code issues.

Rudy

Re: Historic Building codes applied to old frames? #8109 08/17/01 10:32 PM
K
Kurt Westerlund Offline OP
OP Offline
K