Having laid out the preliminary architecture for my frame, I am now working my way from the roof cladding downward, applying stresses & calculating the necessary cross sections to carry them (and carrying the resultant members' weights/loads still further downward, iteratively)

The approach to determining and applying design loads per the ICC has me a bit mystified, however. I am an aerospace engineer by trade, more used to designing around given max/operating loads and theoretical material limits plus a standard safety margin than I am with the various coefficients and rules of thumb which appear to constitute analysis per the International Code. I wish to get some feedback on how well I'm tracking the intended usage of the code, or how far I'm adrift.

I'm in central Texas, so at least some of the load factors don't apply; the ones that seem to are:
-Dead load; weight of materials (I assume 5psf as a starting point for my roof cladding, which will be insulated steel sheet w/o decking; no hard figures on specific materials yet)
-Live load; appears to be plainly stated in the code per a table based on Tributary Area, however I'm a bit unclear on how Tributary Area is derived for selecting a value --I used the largest value, since my first roof face area is greater than the largest Tributary Area category (the magnitude of the chart categories suggest whole roof faces)
-Snow load; the Live Load exceeds the 5psi snow load per the climate map, so I understand it does not apply