Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
framing an eyebrow dormer #5523 02/12/06 06:18 PM
S
SAA Offline OP
OP Offline
S
I am an architect and have been asked to design the framing of an eyebrow dormer. Any diagrams or descriptions on how to do this?

Re: framing an eyebrow dormer #5524 02/13/06 01:17 AM
C
Chris Hall Offline
C
Are you looking for pictures of framing methods or descriptive geometrical methods, or both?

My blog on carpentry practice, East and West:

https://thecarpentryway.blog
Re: framing an eyebrow dormer #5525 02/13/06 02:42 AM
T
timberwrestler Offline
T
The Journal of Light Construction did a good article on eyebrow dormers (I think) within the last year. I'm pretty sure that Will Holliday's book on roof framing (also available from JLC) covers the framing of eyebrows. Lastly, the JLC online forum is often is good source for all sorts of strange framing details.
Brad

Re: framing an eyebrow dormer #5526 02/14/06 06:08 AM
C
Chris Hall Offline
C
Hey SAA (Daniel),

I tried replying to your e-mail today, but the response couldn't be delivered to you for some reason - "couldn't find server" or something like that. So, I'll paste below what I wrote to you:

"The framing of an eyebrow dowmer need not be a whole lot different, for the most part, than a shed/pent roof dormer. One of two methods is usually employed: either the roof is sheathed and the dormer scabbed on to the top of the sheathing - a common enough solution in light framing. Alternatively, the opening is completely framed in timber. I have attached a picture of one solution to that framing from a German layout book - F. Kramer's "Grundwissen Des Zimmerers". I believe it will answer your question on how the main roof rafters can be supported as they intersect the eyebrow framing elements.