Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Hammer Beam Truss Joinery #31316 11/13/13 09:40 PM
F
foster89 Offline OP
OP Offline
F
My name is Joel Foster, I am a student at Cork Institute of Technology in Cork, Ireland. I’m originally from Canada, but am here studying a BSc (hons) Architectural technology. As a requirement of my program I am writing a thesis on the ‘necessities of the hammer beam'.

Throughout my research I have found out the how and why, but lack the information on the typical joinery of the hammer beam and arched ribs spanning from the hammer post to the tie beam. My questions are:

Are the arches typically cut/milled from a single timber, or are they constructed by joining two or more timbers to create the arch. If multiple timbers are used, what type of joinery connects them? - scarf joint?

When the hammer post joins to the hammer beam what is the typical connection? would most simply do a mortise and tenon, or would you use a through tenon for decorative proposes?

Thank you,
Joel

Re: Hammer Beam Truss Joinery [Re: foster89] #31319 11/13/13 10:44 PM
Jay White Cloud Offline
Hi Joel,

I will do my best, and I am sure others that have built Hammer Trusses will join in...

Quote:
Are the arches typically cut/milled from a single timber, or are they constructed by joining two or more timbers to create the arch.
Yes... confused

This is tricky one to answer at it depends on the truss design, and how it is facilitated. I usually try "book matching" both side of the truss assembly, but that is more out of traditions and aesthetics that engineering, though I believe the symmetry does add strength.

Quote:
If multiple timbers are used, what type of joinery connects them? - scarf joint?
Scarfs, and splines are probably the most common, will see what others have to say on that.

Quote:
When the hammer post joins to the hammer beam what is the typical connection?
I prefer a housed joint with through tenon and wedge.

Example: