Timber Framers Guild

Finishing the curved surface of oak braces

Posted By: Maff

Finishing the curved surface of oak braces - 08/09/13 05:44 PM

Hi!

I've very little experience in framing but trying my own small build. I was wondering how you finish the curved surfaces of curved braces? I have chainsawed the shape of the brace but have a very rough surface left and chiseling is a bit of a nightmare. Are there spokeshaves you can use? Or is a compass plane effective?

Many thanks!
Posted By: Dave Shepard

Re: Finishing the curved surface of oak braces - 08/09/13 06:40 PM

Drawknife and spokeshave will work well. Compass plane would be a slow and expensive option.
Posted By: D L Bahler

Re: Finishing the curved surface of oak braces - 08/09/13 07:17 PM

Also, you can use a rotary sanding drum mounted on an electric drill for final finishing.
Posted By: D L Bahler

Re: Finishing the curved surface of oak braces - 08/09/13 07:17 PM

Or a gouge
Posted By: TIMBEAL

Re: Finishing the curved surface of oak braces - 08/09/13 10:00 PM

Adze.
Posted By: Roger Nair

Re: Finishing the curved surface of oak braces - 08/09/13 10:27 PM

I would work crossgrain with a gutter adze and then clean up with a scorp and wish for a travisher for the finest finish
Posted By: Jim Rogers

Re: Finishing the curved surface of oak braces - 08/12/13 08:41 PM

When I have cut curved braces or scoops on the bottom of rafters and floor joists, I used an axe first to blast away the bulk of the wood. Then an adze to shape it more and to remove the axe marks. Then a draw knife to shape it more and remove the adze marks. Then a curved bottom/sole spoke shave to shape if more and remove the draw knife marks.
When it is done it is usually very smooth and of a nice gentle arc.

Jim Rogers
Posted By: Thane O'Dell

Re: Finishing the curved surface of oak braces - 08/15/13 04:11 PM