Timber Framers Guild

Architect Wanted

Posted By: SRC

Architect Wanted - 08/09/05 10:14 PM

I am a real estate developer planning post & beam housing projects for the near future, beginning in California, and spreading out later. I need an architect, preferrably licensed in California, with some planned community or tract house design expereince, in addition to extensive post & beam architectural design experience.
Any recommendations would be appreciated.

Stan Covington
Zephyr USA
Posted By: John Buday

Re: Architect Wanted - 08/10/05 01:48 AM

Stan

Can you describe what it is you are calling "post and beam"?
Also you may want to post this under the topic heading. Timber Frame Design
Posted By: Jim Rogers

Re: Architect Wanted - 08/12/05 03:27 PM

One way to find someone in your area is to go to the TFG home page and click on the "Resource Guide" icon.
Follow the links to the search page and select the proper category for your search and your state and see who's listed there for your area.
Good luck with your search.
Jim Rogers

Re: Architect Wanted - 08/12/05 06:30 PM

In response to your question, the definition of post & beam in this case is a structural frame formed by connecting columns (posts) and beams to form an enclosed space suitable for living or working or storage. The structural members in this case would be glulams or engineered wood (LSL PSL), so I am hestitant to call it a timber frame, the nature of the system requiring tolerances far in excess of what can be expected of solid wood, so that the product is likewise of much higher quality in fit and finish than that of a conventional timber frame. The connections are made using ICC-ES listed concealed metal connectors held in place with 1/2" metal drift pins. We have produced over 30,000 units using this method overseas. YMHOS
Posted By: Emmett Greenleaf

Re: Architect Wanted - 08/13/05 02:46 AM

SRC,