Timber Framers Guild

New beam boring machines: do they exist?

Posted By: mudamaker

New beam boring machines: do they exist? - 01/22/20 04:11 AM

Hello all,

I'm a mechanical engineer / toolmaker, and have noticed a distinct lack of new beam boring machines in my research of timberframing. I've been flirting with the idea of designing my own based on desirable qualities from the most popular beam boring machines.

This also got me to thinking: is there any interest within the timberframing community for plans or kits of a DIY beam boring machine? Or is this one of those things where you either try to find an old one, or just switch to electric?
Posted By: Will B

Re: New beam boring machines: do they exist? - 01/22/20 01:11 PM

Hi Mudamaker,
Yes, I think there would be interest in plans or kits if you can find stock parts to use, like from Graingers. After 40 years of courses using six of the antique machines here at Heartwood, a number of engineers/machinists/students have tried to replicate them economically without success. They end up costing more than buying an antique one.
Worth trying with a fresh set of eyes, tho.
Posted By: Jay White Cloud

Re: New beam boring machines: do they exist? - 01/22/20 09:46 PM

I'm with Will!!!

I would love to see what you come up with for something like a Miller Falls style boring machine that has angulare adjustability. If the price point could be brought down to $350 or less, I'm confident they would more than sell. Especially to those of use that teach the craft within the traditional context...

Good Luck!!!
Posted By: Joe Wood

Re: New beam boring machines: do they exist? - 01/23/20 05:18 PM

It's good to see you around here again Jay!

Re: New beam boring machines: do they exist? - 01/24/20 01:06 AM