Timber Framers Guild

Flat timber truss

Posted By: Scott Beaumont

Flat timber truss - 07/19/11 02:09 AM

Hi, I am designing a timber 24' Ridge truss which is to support a floor beam via two steel rods so that the floor beam can clear span a garage area.

See article for example...

http://www.timberframeengineeringcouncil.org/images/pdf/TFG%20Article%20December%202007.pdf

I have a really high tension load at the bottom chord column connection, does anybody have a solution for this truss style.

Thanks.
Posted By: Roger Nair

Re: Flat timber truss - 07/19/11 10:28 AM

Ideally the forces are resolved in the bottom chord by landing the toe of the strut well inside the post to develope the required shear planes. Of equal concern is compression load at the top of the queen ties. Also consider braces under the bottom chord. In matters of truss design, get an engineering review.

Re: Flat timber truss - 07/19/11 12:28 PM

Roger - thanks for the reply. I am a structural engineer (I work with a building components company) I am reviewing this truss design and I am looking for some field knowledge of this truss as I have never designed it before.

The magnitude of the tensile/compressive loads in the truss arrangment (approx. 25,000 lbs) are proving problematic to resist with dowels in double shear. My span is 24' (28' trib width) with a 44 PSF factored snow load. The literature I referenced mentions spans up to 60', so there must be a strategy for this design.

I was thinking the compressive loads are of less concern becuase I will have wood on wood interaction and can use this to assist with load transfer at the joint - comments?

For the tension joint we are discussig, I have 12x12 white pine members w/ red oak dowels. My preliminary calculations indicate that I will require 25 dowels to resist this tension. I suppose I could use a knee brace to add additional tensile strength at the joint as you suggested.

Any other thoughts. Thanks again Roger.
Posted By: bmike