Timber Framers Guild

CONVERTING AN OLD BARN

Posted By: AARON M

CONVERTING AN OLD BARN - 01/17/06 01:14 AM

HELLO,

I HAVE BEEN DOING RESEARCH ON TIMBERFRAMING ETC, FOR ABOUT A YEAR NOW. I PLAN ON CONSTRUCTING A HOME WITHIN THE NEXT YEAR TO YEAR AND A HALF. THE PLAN WAS TO HAVE A NEW FRAME CUT AND ERECTED. MY THOUGHTS CHANGED RECENTLY WHEN I FOUND OUT THAT A LOCAL INDIVIDUAL WAS INTERESTED IN SELLING AN EXISTING BARN FRAME. I PLAN ON ACTING AS THE GENERAL FOR THE PROJECT NO MATTER IF I USE AN EXISTING FRAME OR A NEW ONE. I AM A HVAC/PLUMBING CONTRACTOR BY TRADE BUT I WOULD TURN OVER ALL DUTIES INVOLVING THE FRAME AND SIPS TO THE EXPERTS. BASICALLY I AM INTERESTED IN FINDING A FRAMER/ CONSULTANT TO HELP WITH RESTORING AND RELOCATING THE FRAME. I AM NOT SURE WHERE TO BEGIN THIS PROCESS OR EVEN IF THE FRAME CAN BE USED. ANY ADVICE WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED. I AM LOCATED IN THE ERIE, PENNSYLVANIA AREA AND I AM NOT AWARE OF ANY LOCAL INDIVIDUALS THAT HANDLE SUCH TASKS. IF ANYONE COULD POINT ME IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION I WOULD APPRECIATE IT. THANK YOU.
Posted By: Randy Churchill

Re: CONVERTING AN OLD BARN - 01/20/06 11:25 PM

Good for you, hope you can follow through with the plan. Need a survey of old barn - might be great, might be a nightmare. Might save you money (rare) or it might cost you more than "new" frame. You have LOTS of options. First step - find a timber framer (from TFG directory) in your area and pay them $100 to take a look, covers fuel and is polite for the 1-4 hours they will be giving you. See if Leon Buckwalter can pay a visit, or Rudy Christian - I know there are closer folks but don't have any names at hand.

A few TF shops specialize in working with old stuff. Some fix it as it is, others take timbers and cut a new frame out of it. If it has to come down and be moved that requires some special skills. Don't worry about trucking the frame a ways, the few grand of trucking is small part of your cost.