Timber Framers Guild

I don't know. can you help?

Posted By: Chuck Gailey

I don't know. can you help? - 10/19/09 06:47 PM

This is my first post on these forums, and I thought this was an appropriate way to start off, as this is a question that I have recently been struggling with. I spend a lot of time on various forums, primarily 3D modeling, design, and architecture ones, and I don't think I have ever seen a subforum designated strictly to the discussion of whether someone is, or is not, a member of what the forum is set up to discuss. Surprising, but fun, too, when you think about it. So, I'd like to offer myself as an example and I am interested to hear your thoughts.

I have been a builder my entire adult life. I have remodeled derelict structures from the ground up; I have built ridiculous and embarrassing mcmansions; I have worked with, and put together, both round and rectilinear sticks of wood (using both steel and all wood joinery); I have been designing residential structures for 10 years (but not a schooled architect); I am an expert computer 3D modeler (both architectural and organic) and artist. I create HD presentation animations, full construction blueprints, and visualization renderings. I enjoy philosophical discussions concerning construction methodology and design theory. And sometimes, I can drink beer and ramble on for hours.

I have always struggled with how I define myself. Am I a Jack of all Trades, master of none (though pretty darn good at a lot)? Am I just a guy who helps people realize their dreams; a facilitator, if you will? Am I "just" an artist?

At some level, can I consider myself a timberframer? Is Timberframer just another tag I can add to my life byline, or there something more encompassing about being a Timberframer that makes other tags redundant?