Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Japanese Style Bracing? #5282 12/03/04 09:23 PM
P
Peter Henrikson Offline OP
OP Offline
P
I have seen numerous references to and photos of "Japanese style bracing". The photos seem to show posts topped by a plate with a girt 1-2 feet below the plate and 2-3 studs connecting the girt and plate between the posts. Since there are no diagonal members, is the wall "braced" solely by the stiffness of the joinery?
I know little about Japanese frame design. Any comments or sources of good info would be appreciated. Thanks.

Re: Japanese Style Bracing? #5283 12/03/04 09:55 PM
M
Mark Davidson Offline
M
i beleive you have a resonable description of the system, i'm not experienced in japanese framing but interested....as i understand it, japan has a good share of earthquakes so diagonal bracing would not be a good idea, diagonal bracing would tend to break the main connections where the parallel beams would have more chance to shake without damage?

Re: Japanese Style Bracing? #5284 12/03/04 09:58 PM
M
Mark Davidson Offline
M
here is a url for a japanese woodworking forum:
http://ibiblio.org/japanwood/phpBB2/index.php?sid=bc0b629369104dadd705fa64341d64fa
this forum is connected to Hirade's website:
http://www.japanesetools.com/index.html

Re: Japanese Style Bracing? #5285 12/11/04 02:29 AM
M
michael morningstar Offline
M
Peter,