Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
cutting curves in brace stock #5317 01/19/05 07:21 AM
N
natiro Offline OP
OP Offline
N
I'm relatively new to the timber framing world and thought I'd pick people's brains about tricks, techniques, resource information regarding cutting curves in brace stock. Any and all information is welcome!
Thanks,
dave

Re: cutting curves in brace stock #5318 01/19/05 01:06 PM
G
Gabel Offline
G
I have used a stationary bandsaw, a hand-held bandsaw, an axe-adze-spokeshave combo, and have even been on a job where they were cut from both sides with a 7 1/4" circular saw (the curve was pretty shallow).

We cut the joinery in all the braces first and then go through and cut the curves. To remove saw marks we used to belt-sand the curved part (bad--I don't like sanding), then I spokeshaved it (good--you can't breath those shavings), now we have a curved power plane (a little faster than the spokeshave although I kind of miss the shoulder workout).

Your technique will basically be determined by your available tooling. If it is a hobby and no bandsaw is available, I would rough out with an axe, take it nearly to the line with an adze, and clean to the line with a spokeshave. It really goes pretty quickly.

Good Luck

Gabel Holder

Re: cutting curves in brace stock #5319 01/19/05 01:15 PM
J
Jim Rogers Offline
J
Another way to do it is to start with curved stock. We took some large curved branches and put them on the sawmill and cut two slabs out of it to make book matched curved pieces 3 1/8" thick. Then laid out the brace tenons on the curved stock and cut the mortises to the length of the tenons.
To clean up the bark edges we also used a draw knife and a spoke shave.
Good luck with your project.
Jim Rogers

Whatever you do, have fun doing it!
Re: cutting curves in brace stock #5320 01/19/05 01:52 PM
daiku Offline