Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Hand Saw Recommendation #733 02/01/04 01:03 AM
J
Jeff Offline OP
OP Offline
J
I am new to the timber frame craft and I will be attempting my first frame on a small out-building this summer. Can anyone recommend a decent brand name hand saw? Vintage works for me, even if I have to have it sharpened and set. I do not want to spend hundreds, however, I aint buying one at Homedepot either! Can anyone help a novice in Ohio?

Re: Hand Saw Recommendation #734 02/01/04 02:11 AM
L
LauraV Offline
L
I have a Shark Corporation Takumi Ryoba 10-1/4" General Carpentry Double Blade Saw that I am very happy with. I prefer the Japanese style pull saw for most applications. It runs about $50

Re: Hand Saw Recommendation #735 02/01/04 03:32 PM
M
Mark Davidson Offline
M
i also would recommend trying a japanese saw
i've gotten saws from tashiro's that are very good and reasonably priced
here is the web address...http://www.tashirohardware.com/
i recommend the timber blade/king rip blade with a king handle
check it out
-Mark in Ontario.

Re: Hand Saw Recommendation #736 02/01/04 05:07 PM
Will Truax Offline
Though I too, own a Royoba and do recommend at least one as part of your kit, as a practitioner of traditional layouts, on timber of often irregular surface, rough, hewn and naturally curved pieces - I use handsaws daily, and want to put in a good word for western pattern saws.

There in Ohio the pickings are easy in the antique markets, and that is where you’ll find saws of superior quality – Geo(ff) Bishop ~ made there in Ohio – Atkins ~ made next door in Indiana, and of course older Disston’s are manufactures (but not the only) to keep an eye out for.