Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
what types of wood are best? #12830 09/12/07 11:28 PM
J
jbuckendahl Offline OP
OP Offline
J
I am new to timber framing but have been thinking of the idea for quite some time,I ordered six books earlier this week so I hope to get many of my questions answered through them, I have many questions since the only framing I've done has been conventional stick. I have a sawmill and I live in northeast Nebraska. I am wondering what types of trees around here are suitable for timber framing, the woods most available are elms, ash, red cedar, cottonwood, mullberry, soft maple, and honey locust. Pine are hard to find but if I run a want add I'm sure I could come up with some. I am thinking of framing a couple sheds about 24x40 and then maybe a house. btw, is there a spell check on here? Thanks

Re: what types of wood are best? [Re: jbuckendahl] #12832 09/13/07 02:15 AM
Dave Shepard Offline
Welcome jbuckendahl! I don't think there is a spell check that I know of. I have not worked the woods you mentioned, but I, too, am new to TF. Red mulberry is supposed to be very decay resistant. Both of Jack Sobons books discuss the benefits and disadvantages of many different species of trees. Ask plenty of questions, there are many knowledgeable and helpful people on here. smile

Dave

BTW, what kind of mill do you run? I run two Woodmizers.

Member, Timber Framers Guild
Re: what types of wood are best? [Re: Dave Shepard] #12837 09/13/07 06:45 PM
brad_bb Offline