Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Opinion on what next..... beginner project? #12901 09/22/07 09:10 PM
mikehailey Offline OP
OP Offline
I have never posted before, but have been lurking for the past 6 months or so. I am totally new to Timber framing, but hopefully by sharing your forum, and many other books, and internet sites I have at least a clue. crazy

I and a friend have plans to attend a workshop next year, but between then and now I need to make some decisions that really can't wait till I attend the school.

Here is my dilemma:

I need your expert opinion or which project I should attempt first.

The first is basically a cabin much like Sobon's book, or my other option is I have a 24X32 with 13 1/2' ceiling downstairs garage that I want to turn into a kitchen dining area, and it will eventually attach to a timber framed addition which will be a gathering room, and master bedroom. I would like to mimic timber frame inside the room to make it compatible with the future addition?

This has gotten really long.... But basically which is easier? A freestanding small cabin, or to fill out an interior space to make it look somewhat like it was timber framed.

Siketi
Re: Opinion on what next..... beginner project? [Re: ] #12907 09/23/07 12:41 PM
mikehailey Offline OP
OP Offline
Ouch! I was afraid that was what some might say. I have been thinking about layout and erecting inside an existing room, and it does have it's own problems. i.e.; how do you run simulated corner posts to the ceiling. Luckily I am going to drop the ceiling, and raise the floor some anyway. The current ceiling is 13 1/2' from the concrete slab. The garage was originally designed for boat storage.

There are positives though, one of which is not having to deal with the rain, which is a huge consideration here in Southeast Alaska.

By the way I am thinking everything will be Yellow Cedar, with hemlock flooring, and ceiling. " It's nice to live in a rainforest sometimes"...