Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Center Cut Timbers? #12960 09/28/07 02:14 AM
J
jimwood Offline OP
OP Offline
J
I am brand new to TF and the forum having just discovered it two days ago and have a question about cutting timbers from logs. I have a Woodmizer sawmill and was just given a big red oak log by a neighbor. I plan to make a TF covered porch off of my stick built house as my first project and plan to start my timber collection with the oak. I planned to split the log down the middle and saw two beams from top half and two from the bottom thereby keeping the center out. This is based on my experience that sawn boards with the log center usually have large cracks. Then I read pg 80 of Jack Sobon/Roger Schroeder's book where they say that large beams should be center-cut but small ones like braces need not. Q1 - Is it desirable to keep the center in large timbers or really not important? Q2 - I have a lot of sweet gum trees that are big enough to make timbers - any reason not to use them? Thanks for the advice.

Re: Center Cut Timbers? [Re: jimwood] #12963 09/29/07 11:18 AM
J
Jim Rogers Offline
J
Center cutting or box hearting timbers usually starts with the timbers are 5"x5" or greater. If the braces are 3"x5" then they usually aren't center cut/boxed heart.
In an oak log if you make one large cant and then cut it down the middle to make two each one could bow due to stress in the log.
If it was me, I'd make one center cut/boxed heart timber, if it is going to be larger than 5"x5".
Checks or surface splits are part of timber framing....
I've never used sweet gum so I can't help you with that....

Whatever you do, have fun doing it!
Re: Center Cut Timbers? [Re: Jim Rogers] #12964 09/29/07 01:39 PM
daiku Offline