Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Not another finishing question! [Re: kfhines] #14108 01/26/08 06:23 PM
T
Thomas-in-Kentucky Offline
T
I would love to hear about this topic from someone who lives in a timber frame house. I have built one timber frame that I will live in and I am currently going through the painful process of redoing the finish. Buried somewhere in this forum is a post of mine on this topic, so I won't go into all of the same details. To summarize,

I think linseed oil (boiled, raw, or otherwise) is a pretty crappy finish. I have little experience with other "oils" but I speculate they too have some of the downsides of linseed oil, so I am suspect of recommendations of other oils as permanent solutions. Linseed oil offers some level of protection against weather, but it accumulates (magnifies and attracts!) nasty fingerprints and black weathering streaks if the frame is exposed for very long. It would make a pretty lousy finish for a house that you plan to live in. You would not be able to keep it clean... especially with kids in the house.

Polyurethane looks awesome and is incredibly durable. It can be kept clean. If it works on flooring, it will definitely work on timbers. We are sanding most of the linseed oil off of our timbers and applying polyurethane. It doesn't look too bad where we only do a partial sanding before recovering with polyurethane, but it can look splotchy. In some places it is necessary to remove all of the linseed oil to get all of the stain off. But it is not feasible to sand every bit of linseed oil off the entire timber. I'm hoping the splotches will fade. If not, I can live with them, because the timbers look great with poly on them. If you had clean, oiled timbers, you could go over them with polyurethane w/o first sanding. A few of our timbers were clean and we did just that.