Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Downloading Rubies. #17086 10/20/08 02:19 AM
R
Randy L Offline OP
OP Offline
R
Hello folks, my name is Randy and I'm new to timber framing. I'll be attending Mark Davidsons workshops in a couple weeks, and have been learning what ever I can on my own. I downloaded the Sketchup program today and have been spending some time playing around with it. But for the life of me I can't seem to get the rubies to show in my plugin menu. I'm able to get them onto my computer but the folder doesn't seem to have anything in it, only two items that I can't open. Anyone have any suggestions. I'm fairly decent with computers but this has me stumped.
Thanks!

Re: Downloading Rubies. [Re: Randy L] #17089 10/20/08 12:48 PM
daiku Offline
Hi Randy.

Unzip the rubies into sketchups plugins folder. If you're on Vista, put the rubies zip file on your desktop first, then double click it, then drag the files into the plugins folder. Then restart sketchup. CB.

--
Clark Bremer
Minneapolis
Proud Member of the TFG
Re: Downloading Rubies. [Re: daiku] #17134 10/23/08 11:03 AM
R
Randy L Offline OP
OP Offline
R
Thanks Clark, I actually do have vista. I can now see the TF rubbies menu.

When I click on timber list, am I supposed to see a list of timbers to work with, because it just asks to save into a file then nothing happens after that. I can see all the timbers in the joinery, frameing folders. Am I supposed to drag those over manually from my desktop too?

Sorry for the rookie questions, pretty green at this stuff.

Thanks!

Re: Downloading Rubies. [Re: Randy L] #17135 10/23/08 12:53 PM
daiku Offline
The timber list feature creates a materials list of the timbers you have in the current project - what you need to have sawn to build what's on the screen. The list of pre-designed timbers are in your component libraries. The timber list function generates a csv text file that you can open in Excel. CB.