Print Thread
Rate Thread
How hard to take down frame? #24480 09/23/10 04:24 PM
G
GeoAdam Offline OP
OP Offline
G
Hello,

I am a building contractor and have quite a bit of experience with building traditional frame houses. I have a boom lift and a full complement of tools.

I have an opportunity to purchase two timber frame barns that are about 15 years old, and would plan to take them home and rebuild them. I am not concerned about time taken to build them, as I can do that on my own schedule, but I am concerned about how long it would take to take the buildings down. This is because it is about 10 hours away, and I need to know about how much time it would take with a 3 person crew. One barn is 48' x 26', the other is 24' x 18'. I have attached a few pictures for you to see what I would be getting into...

I would be able to salvage everything from the building: siding (barn board), windows, stairs, framing, roof boards (shingles would be scrapped), doors, etc. Both have a second floor.

Looking for suggestions:
1. How long would it take to take them down, piece by piece, label it, and load it into storage trailer?
2. What special tools would I require (crane)?
3. How much storage space would I need for the large building, that is, would it fit in a regular transport container?
4. If you were to buy this building, what would you pay?

Thanks for the help - I don't know if this is what you typically discuss on these forums. I just don't want to get myself into a really bad position by buying these buildings.

Adam

Attached Files
IMG_1552.JPG (49.58 KB, 342 downloads)
DSCN0141.JPG (54.43 KB, 280 downloads)
DSCN0152.JPG (52.93 KB, 203 downloads)
IMG_1569.JPG (82.7 KB, 222 downloads)
DSCN0155.JPG (52.06 KB, 211 downloads)
Re: How hard to take down frame? #24494 09/25/10 03:19 PM
J
Jim Rogers Offline
J
I was unable to open any of your photos. You need to find a photo hosting site and post them there and then post a link to that site so we can see your pictures.