Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
A little help needed #26475 05/23/11 04:42 PM
H
Hammerhead Offline OP
OP Offline
H
Hi all,
I have been a carpenter for a very long time, but have little experience with timber framing. A project I'm working on requires me to create a pocket in a 6x8 douglas fir post that is 1/2"x4" and 24" deep through the center of one end. The purpose for this is the insertion of a steel plate that will then be through bolted as per engineer's spec. Technically, I suppose this would be a blind mortise.

I try to refrain from referring to it as a mortise as the depth is simply off the scale. My problem is that I can't find any tool capable of removing the material to that depth with any degree of accuracy. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Lowell Shaw

Re: A little help needed #26480 05/23/11 11:44 PM
R
Ray Gibbs Offline
R
what about cutting a 1/2" wide groove deeper than the plate width. Glue in a 1/2" piece of DF to hide the groove after. Done well this would be almost invisible.

Re: A little help needed #26483 05/24/11 12:13 PM
G
Gabel Offline
G
Without buying or borrowing a slotting tool such as this
http://www.timbertools.com/Products/SwissPRO-Horizontal-Slotter-SG-400.html (and it only goes 18" in) or plunging it with a chainsaw (not recommended as it takes a perrfectly tuned saw , tremendous skill and years of heavy chainsaw use to be able to do that accurately) you'll have to do as Ray said and cut an open slot down the face of the post and then fill it in after the post is installed. Depending on your tooling and the orientation of the slot in the 6x8, you may need to cut the slot from both sides of the post and then fill both faces. Check with the engineer to verify that this is ok.

Re: A little help needed #26492 05/25/11 09:33 PM
Thane O'Dell Offline
Ask the Engineer how he/she would normally do this.