Print Thread
Rate Thread
Scarf joint advice #32797 02/15/15 03:38 AM
R
RunningWaters Offline OP
OP Offline
R
Hi folks,

This is my first time posting. I am helping a friend with a building project in Sonora Mexico and need advice about a scarf joint in a ridge beam. My friend has two 4.5"x10" Arizona black walnut beams. They are split from the same 9"x10" timber. My friend wants to splice these two beams together to span 19 feet between adobe end walls. The beam will hold 18 pole rafters and a thatch roof. The pole rafters are between 4" and 6" diameter salt cedars.

Is it possible to do a traditional scarf joint to join the two beams at the center of the span? If so, what type of joint would be best? Generally, what would you recommend for this scenario? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
David

Re: Scarf joint advice [Re: RunningWaters] #32798 02/15/15 05:00 PM
Jay White Cloud Offline
Hi R.W.,

Quote:
Is it possible to do a traditional scarf joint to join the two beams at the center of the span?

Depends...???

There are a number of scarf joints and/or corbeling scenarios that may be possible either in a format from the Iberian Peninsula which has roots in the Spanish and Pueblo areas of this country, or some other vernacular form...like Japanese, which can deal with such a "thin" beam. It is going to be really challenging to suggest any valued assistance without seeing a model of the structure intended and photos of the beams.

4.5" is extremely narrow (too narrow?) for a major ridge beam...

Quote:
If so, what type of joint would be best?

Really can't without photos and more design info like...there are a dozen or so I can think of just off the top of my head but without more information (i.e. photos, blueprints, etc) I can't even begin to make a good offering...

Quote:
Generally, what would you recommend for this scenario?