Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Scarf Joints #35873 12/30/20 03:52 PM
D
DaveG Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Hello, I am new to the Guild, thank you for adding me. I am hoping to get some information for
a small loft project I am working on.

I was looking for advice or suggestions on building the header beam. My thought was to use a
scarf joint to join the beams. Supporting the beams at the joint. I am new to timber framing
so I am open to any ideas on a better option to join the beams. Also, I was planning on
using reclaimed hand hewn oak timber and was curious on the good or the bad on using
that vs new lumber. I have included a very rough sketch for dimensions.

Any advice is greatly appreciated
Thank you!

Attached Files
Attached PDF document
IMG_1496.pdf (4.36 MB, 155 downloads)
Re: Scarf Joints [Re: DaveG] #35874 01/01/21 10:39 PM
T
tframeNH Offline
T
Dave I'm new as well and I think the scarf joint seems to be the way to go. I haven't heard or seen any other technique to accomplish what you are looking to do. I've seen it done a couple of ways. Check this out:

https://youtu.be/bYvQmusLaxw?t=1135

and this is the other way I've seen it a scarf joint done:

https://youtu.be/6j-U1P49r8U?t=392

I think I'd opt for the first one. Looks like a better design considering where the join occurs over the post.

Re: Scarf Joints [Re: DaveG] #35875 01/02/21 08:19 PM
J
Jim Rogers Online Confused
Online Confused
J
There have been many studies by the timber framing guild engineering council on scarf joints. You should research this idea of a scarf joint over a post. It is usually recommended to NOT be over a post. When you put a timber over a post you are asking that timber to give you all it can give you to support your frame. Then you can half of it away. How can a timber give it all the strength you need if you cut half of it away? Do more research on scarf joint locations and find a better location for your scarf joint.

Whatever you do, have fun doing it!