Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: brace tenons #4376 04/26/02 06:47 AM
K
Ken Hume Offline
K
Hi Northern Hewer,

The non pegged brace depth of (4") that you have observed fits my line of thought previously described above. i.e at 4" deep there is really insufficient room and tenon depth to make a pegged joint work.

I have heard both Rudy Christian and Joel McCarty mention this non pegged feature.

How about it experts - please set us straight.

Incidentally, how did a bunch of Germans get in amongst the English, French and native indians who must have been fighting it out for possession of this land at the time you describe ?
Regards

Ken Hume

Looking back to see the way ahead !
Re: brace tenons #4377 04/26/02 01:22 PM
daiku Offline
I'm not a structural engineer, but I doubt that adding a second peg does very much to make the joint less of a "hinge". Because the pins are still relatively close together, and when the joint is being stressed like a hinge, the entire length of the brace is acting like a lever, very little extra strength to resist the torque would be added. What the second pin would do, however, is increase the strength of the joint in tension (provided the brace and mortise are large enough). But I agree with Richard that the frame should be designed such that the braces provide their strength when in compression. Braces should always be used in pairs, so that one of the braces is in compression, regardless of which direction the racking force is being applied. CB.

Quote:
Originally posted by Roger Brown: