Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Hammerbeam #4675 08/27/05 06:25 PM
J
jkoella Offline OP
OP Offline
J
I am a novice, and am interested in educating myself on some of the guidelines and recommendatons for hammerbeam trusses (for relatively smaller structures i.e. 14'-22'). I went and spoke with someone who builds and designs timberframes and they were trying to disuade me from their (hammerbeam) use. I have done a front porch addition out of hemlock and am wanting to do some outbuildings/sheds, and then eventually an addition onto the house. Any good references/books etc. that go into some detail regarding hammerbeams would be greatly appreciated. (I have what I think are Benson's and Sobon's first books).
Thanks in advance
Jon Koella

Jon Koella
Re: Hammerbeam #4676 08/27/05 11:56 PM
C
Collin Beggs Offline
C
Pick up the Red design book and/or the revised design book published by the Timber Framers Guild. They contain informational and cautionary articles by Ed Levin amoung others.

"The lyf so short, the craft so long to lerne."
Geoffrey Chaucer (1343-1400)
Re: Hammerbeam #4677 08/28/05 02:50 PM
E
Emmett Greenleaf Offline
E
Jon,
There are those who shy away from hammerbeams because of the characteristic of outward thrust exhibitied by a badly designed/constructed trusses. My personal view says there is no more attractive configuration. Check out the Russell Colbath project in NH here on the TFG website for views of a big hammerbeam barn/educational facility. The design geometry which puts all the thrust downward avoids the outward movement problem. Notice how a flying buttress effect can be achieved which further contains the hammerbeam.

Re: Hammerbeam #4678 08/28/05 03:54 PM
M
milton Offline
M
Hi All:
The hammer beam is a tricky truss. The russell colbath truss complete with butresses had to be reinforced with unseen steel to make it work. This was accomplished after the rendezvous that cut and raised it was over.