Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
add on to frame #12734 09/04/07 03:18 AM
C
chichi1golf Offline OP
OP Offline
C
I just completed the 12x16 frame which is described in the sobon timber frame book and I am already looking forward to expanding on this building. I would like to add a wider section to the end of the bldg. I am thinking say 4 or 6 feet wider at each side and say 8 feet or 10 on the length.This means the front end would be 20 or 24 ft wide and 8 or 10ft in length. This sits in front of the 12 ft wide by 16 ft. length section I just finished.

The shed has a 12in overhang at the gable on the existing roof which has a 1 to 1 pitch. . I was thinking I would go 2 ft higher on the posts and keep the same roof pitch in the addition.Is this addition doable or is there a better way to add a wider section. I am a newbie with zero design skill. Thanks for any advice. Please help me with a solution as I love this stuff.
Bob

Re: add on to frame [Re: chichi1golf] #12743 09/04/07 03:45 PM
brad_bb Offline
I'm a newbie too, but I'll give a little input from what I've seen. A 20 or 24 foot span is doable if the timbers are sized correctly as well as the joints. Ask yourself what the intended purpose is and determine the size you really need. Whether the frame is 24 feet wide or 32 feet wide, it's roughly same amount of work to build. I'm assuming a king post design and that you want to clear span your width. So if you needed or wanted more space, consider that it's just as easy (almost) to up it to 32 or whatever. The tie beam does not have to be continuous with a king post, thus allowing you to use 2 16+ foot pieces for your tie beams, joined to your kingpost. This was the design we used in my recent timber framing class. Our clear span was 24 feet, but a previous workshop did a 32 foot span in the same style.