Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Cantilevered Posts in TF? #12988 10/03/07 04:44 PM
J
joeyd Offline OP
OP Offline
J
I am trying to find a way to build a strawbale-enclosed timberframe in Utah, which has a D1 seismic design requirement. It seems that all timberframes in Utah are wrapped in plywood/osb shear walls which I am not particularly interested in. Embedded steel moment frames are also employed frequently, but even if that could be concealed by the strawbales somehow, it relegates the timber frame to ornamental status, and my attraction to timberframing is the elegance of a structure that is useful, beautiful, and efficient.

Perusing some structural engineering forums (I am not a structural engineer, or any kind of engineer for that matter) I found a discussion about timber moment frames (steel connected timber, but timber nonetheless) wherein it was suggested that the posts of the structure could be embedded in concrete and effectively cantilevered against lateral forces, thus creating moment resistance.

Aside from the moisture issues (I'll come back to that), is there any reason why this wouldn't work for a timberframe? Extra long posts could be lowered into prepared holes in the ground, and concrete poured around it. The timbers would have to be large, I'm assuming, but in the end you'd have a true standalone timberframe that also would resist significant seismic loads. And then I could wrap with strawbales without any problems (or OSB).