Print Thread
Rate Thread
Ambitious Amateur Inquiry #1336 01/22/05 10:37 PM
D
David Mason Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Hi All,

I'm a thoroughly inexperienced carpenter with a dream to build a timber frame home. On the way there, I'd like to get some experience (and solve some immediate problems) by building a timber frame outbuilding--something along the lines of the shed featured in last November's "Fine Homebuilding", complete with SIP exterior.

I've read all the standard introductory lit on the subject, but I'm lacking some footing about initial practical matters such as purchasing plans and material.

What are the experienced suggestions for plans for such a project? And does anyone have any recommendations for material sources in the Memphis area? (I have a friend in Georgia who glued together his own SIPs--is this a viable option?)

Thanks for the recommendations and advice.

David Mason
Re: Ambitious Amateur Inquiry #1337 01/25/05 02:57 AM
C
Chris S Offline
C
I can completely relate. I have been studying timber frame building for several years, but have yet to cut my first bent. I do however have the wood for the shed FWW featured thanks to Hurricane Issabel. I had a portable bandsaw mill come and saw my 3000+bf of white/red oak, pine, and maple for about $.30/bf Mine was an ideal situation however since I had used a backhoe to move all 40 logs into easy milling position. My first plan called for chainsaw milling the wood for the frame, but that is a LOT of work. Definitely do-able, but man the aching back! The plans that I'm working from are in Jack Sobon's book "Timber Frame Construction" Amazon link A little scant, but you get the idea. I would find another book for the actual cutting. I think Chappell's book is supposed to be solid:
Timber Framer\'s Workshop link