Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Metal Connectors instead of Traditional Joinery? #13503 12/11/07 08:47 PM
S
steele Offline OP
OP Offline
S
First off what a great resource this site and your input has been as I searched through old posts. Having only a burning desire and zero experience please excuse any ignorance on my part. :-)

I've eventual plans of constructing a shop and want to use timber off our land for the construction. I could hire a miller to process the logs into lumber but timber framing appeals to me more. So I'm in the process of learning as much as I can.

As a newbie I'll stick my neck out and ask my first question about using butt joints and metal connectors instead of traditional joinery.

I realize this could be sacrilegious but it seems like it would simplify the process for me. I do appreciate the skill, beauty and strength in traditional joinery and am in awe of the work I've see done that way.

I'm sure most or all of you are familiar with Rob Roy's book on timber framing and his use of steel plates and bolts to join the frame.

So I'm looking for any input on this aspect of "contemporary" timber framing.

Thanks in advance,
Nate

Re: Metal Connectors instead of Traditional Joinery? [Re: steele] #13504 12/11/07 08:51 PM
J
Jim Rogers Offline
J
Nate:
That kind of construction is called "post and beam". It is not timber framing for sure.
You can do it yourself if you like but be careful of the bolt spacing as if it is done wrong it can weaken the pieces. You need to understand the correct locations for the bolts so that it makes it stronger and secure, and this may take some research on your part to find the answers.
Good luck with your project.

Jim Rogers

Whatever you do, have fun doing it!
Re: Metal Connectors instead of Traditional Joinery? [Re: Jim Rogers] #13508 12/12/07 06:57 AM
S
steele Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Thanks Jim, something I just came across, this may be the answer for me...