Print Thread
Rate Thread
Careers in Timber Framing - Where to start? #14065 01/24/08 09:00 PM
C
Capone Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Greetings,

I have always had a passion for timber frame structures, however I never considered pursuing a career in this industry until now.

My goal is to develop a better understanding of this industry as a whole so I can determine where my talents and skills can be best utilized. My educational background is a B.S. Mechanical Engineering however; I have been working as a Sales Engineer for the past 6 years. While I have enjoyed continued success in my current position, I am considering making a change.

My first question is whether there is a demand for technical sales representatives within this industry? I hope to capitalize on my strengths in business development, building/maintaining long-term relationships and technical abilities in an environment that is in line with my passions for woodworking and engineering.

Secondly, does anyone have recommendations as to the best path I can take to pursue a position in project management? Would additional education such as a Masters in Civil Engineering or general work experience through apprenticeships, training, etc be more beneficial?

All suggestions and information provided will be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Mike S.

Re: Careers in Timber Framing - Where to start? [Re: ] #14100 01/26/08 01:46 AM
C
Capone Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Hey Derek,

I'm not currently a member... yet. I was just reading through the benefits pages before I checked this thread. Signing up is definitely my next step.

Do you (or anyone else reading this post) have any information on the upcoming western conference in ID? I was considering attending however; I didn't see any information or sign-up links.

Thanks,

Mike

Re: Careers in Timber Framing - Where to start? [Re: Capone] #14495 03/06/08 03:01 PM
Raphael D. Swift Offline