Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Engineering, codes, loads #14659 03/18/08 03:45 PM
brad_bb Offline OP
OP Offline
It's time for me to start designing my timberframe workshop and I need some direction as to how to determine the loads -snow, live etc. I need to apply when determining loading at each joint and thus be able to size each memeber and their joints and pegging. I am a mechanical engineer, but this is my first TF design. Of course a licensed engineer in my state (preferably with TF experience) will check my work.
How do I determine the loading on my frame? I have heard of the IBC. Do I need to buy a book? Is it specific to my area(Illinois)?
Just FYI, I am currently planning on a 30X48 clearspan workshop space with 11.5 foot ceiling. A full second floor above with 3' knee walls on the sides(posted cape style bent). I have to work out the calculations and sizing to see if I can do this and what size timbers etc.

Last edited by brad_bb; 03/18/08 03:47 PM.
Re: Engineering, codes, loads [Re: brad_bb] #14665 03/19/08 01:31 PM
CarlosCabanas Offline
Brad

All the info is in Steve's book. You just need to find out the codes for your area and then calculate the live and dead loads based on the area of your roof and what you plan on doing with your second floor. I know you want a living space so the load shouldn't be that great. It's a lot of work figuring out all the different weights and adding them up. I'm sure building engineer's have some sort of book of average loads.

Carlos

I cut it twice, and it's still too short!!
Re: Engineering, codes, loads [Re: ] #14669 03/19/08 06:08 PM
brad_bb Offline OP
OP Offline