Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
wood shingle roof #1479 03/21/05 02:48 PM
H
hardworker6 Offline OP
OP Offline
H
I have no experience in timber framing, although I have experience in other contruction.
I am planning to build a small post and beam barn (more like a large shed). I was thinking of using wood shingles or shakes for the roofing. Pictures I have seen, show 1x4 as the nailers attached to the rafters. I am concerned about this. In a conventional roof, roof sheathing prevents the roof from "sliding" or collapsing. I don't see how this works in the pictures I have seen.
Any one can explain this to me?
thanks
Jonathan

Re: wood shingle roof #1480 03/21/05 04:28 PM
jim haslip Offline
Plywood or OSB Roof Sheathing is used to stabilize the rafter system. It spaces the rafters, and stiffens the roof members. Historically, regular 1x's (or perhaps shiplap boards)were used to perform this function.
With cedar or wood shingles, it is important to 'vent' the back side so that the shingles are kept dry and last longer. Hence, the 1x4's space the shingles away from the roof sheathing and or insulation. If the shingles are placed directly onto plywood or OSB sheathing, the shingles do not dry out properly and their live expectancy is reduced accordingly.
Here in Beautiful BC, Building code says to include Roofing Felt every two rows of wood shigles/shakes to allow an additional layer of water protection.
Typically, Peel-n-stick Roof membrane is applied at least 3 ft (1 metre) up from the edges and throughout the valleys if plywood is used for the roof sheathing, and then the 1x4's on top of that. In rainy or cold elevations, it is recommended to Peel-n-stick the entire roof regardless of the roof covering (asphalt, wood or metal)
Hope this helps...

Re: wood shingle roof #1481 03/21/05 04:46 PM
jim haslip Offline