Print Thread
Rate Thread
Hewed surface quality/differences #15266 04/29/08 05:08 PM
F
Francois Offline OP
OP Offline
F
Hello,

I,m new to this group and very new to hewing. I have a single beveled hewing axe and also a double beveled one (1900 Granfors model i received by mistake..kept it as it looks very nice). Since the single beveled one is not ready yet (minor reshaping and sharpening needed) I decided to start with the double beveled model. I do my scoring and juggling with a scoring axe and the hewing qwith the hewing axe. However, it is very hard to make a flat surface with the double beveled broad axe. Rather it leaves a scalloped surface that i find very attractive. the scallops are very shallow. It looks rather like a sculpted flat surface, rather than a totally flat surface. However, is this totally non desirable? It is not as smooth as what i see that gets done with the standard broad axe, but I like the effect. Please some pros and cons.

By the way, I am totally new at this, and nobody in my family has any experience with this. So I've browsed a lot, read a lot, bought a few books on general axe work and beam work and will gladly take any advice. In the meantime, i consider my work as practise and the beams satisfy me for the time being. Luckily, from beam to beam, I see my improvements.

Thanks,

francois

Re: Hewed surface quality/differences [Re: Francois] #15267 04/29/08 06:19 PM
frwinks Offline
the nice thing about hewing IMO is that the beauty lies in the eye of the hewer cool.
I've hewed a few pcs now that some people might look at and think I have no clue what I'm doing (and that might be the case from certain anglesgrin)...but to me an my GF they have the look we're after so we're happy grin

there's a thin line between hobby and mental illness
Re: Hewed surface quality/differences [Re: frwinks] #15268 04/29/08 10:26 PM
G
Gabel Offline
G