Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rating: 5
Page 38 of 136 1 2 36 37 38 39 40 135 136
Re: historic hewing questionnaire [Re: Ken Hume] #18677 03/19/09 04:51 PM
OurBarns1 Offline
Originally Posted By: Ken Hume

I am no nail expert but a thought that often passes through my mind is that generally the grain direction of one piece being nailed to another is at 90 degrees e.g. in the case of floor boards being nailed to joists. That being the case the nail has to be able to perform both with and across the grain so what would be the preferred nail orientation when nailing down floor boards ?

I would say preferred nail orientation would go with the floor board's grain. The joist is the more substantial timber and could resist cross-grain interference better than the thinner floor board... I'd say orient a cut nail parallel with the floor board.

(There. I think I'm done posting on this topic for the day!!)

Don Perkins
Member, TFG

to know the trees...

Re: historic hewing questionnaire [Re: OurBarns1] #18682 03/20/09 12:32 AM
N
northern hewer Offline OP
OP Offline
N
Hi everyone tonight

Don , Ken:

by all means the proper way to orient a cut nail is with the grain of in this case flooring. The same is true no matter what medium that you are nailing to one another usually it is the surface cladding that the nail stays oriented with the grain.

To answer your question about what the term-- "Butt Cog" refers to well here is my explanation.

In Traditional timberframing the "Butt" or the lower end of the rafter that sits on the Upper plate usually stays in its place due to a "cog" fashioned on the end of the rafter. This "cog" has a 90 degree leading edge that sits down in a mortise usually about 2.5" from the exterior edge of the plate. This cog sometimes extends across the full width of the bottom of the rafter but not always.

after the rafter has been set in its place it was usual to use 4 or 5" spikes or a wooden peg to hold it in its positon.