Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
Re: Will the CNC replace hand made frames ? [Re: Dave Shepard] #19092 04/11/09 11:11 AM
B
bmike Offline
B
Originally Posted By: Dave Shepard
I am not sure that I follow you. Good because it sent me on my own more traditional path?

it proved that the machine will not take over the world, and for those who oppose this technology, your step can be seen as a good one in the struggle against the oppressive nature of the mechanization of timber framing. your choice is certainly not a sabot thrown into the red clamps of the hundegger - but it proves that there is enough room in building structures for all comers...

sort of my point in general in another reply in this thread.

Mike Beganyi Design and Consulting, LLC.
www.mikebeganyi.com
Re: Will the CNC replace hand made frames ? [Re: bmike] #19096 04/11/09 04:19 PM
C
cedar Offline OP
OP Offline
C
I worked in the forest industry here in BC Canada. When it was computerized and modernized in the mid-1980's. It created more jobs than replacing them at the time. Modernization left holes in the industry for specialization. So when I saw the hundegger guys pitching to the public at the trade show their superiority over the hand cut framers. I wondered if the same thing would happen again. Modernization and computerization leaving gaps in the industry for specializtion. Machines will never replace the brains and skills of Craftsman. Good marketing by small shops will always draw clients to them.

Re: Will the CNC replace hand made frames ? [Re: cedar] #19098 04/11/09 05:17 PM
T
TIMBEAL Offline
T
Originally Posted By: cedar
Machines will never replace the brains and skills of Craftsman.

I believe it will in the long run, in the mean time, it will put a big dent in it. So for now I am going to continue to sharpen all of my tools.

Tim

Re: Will the CNC replace hand made frames ? [Re: ] #19105 04/12/09 01:28 AM
T
TIMBEAL Offline
T