Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Working with White Ash #19214 04/15/09 12:00 PM
Thane O'Dell Offline OP
OP Offline
Where I live, there is lots of White Ash stands. Also White ash works not too bad and is is quite strong. However I'm not able to find a lot of information on it or the design values in the tables. Does anyone have any data for this species of wood.
Thanks
New member,
Thane O'Dell

Life is short so put your heart into something that will last a long time.
Re: Working with White Ash [Re: Thane O'Dell] #19238 04/15/09 10:51 PM
OurBarns1 Offline
Hi Thane

No hard "data" to offer, but ash is very even and predictible, which is why native people made baskets w/ it.

Ash also steam bends wonderfully (snowshoe frames), and ash was traditional for canoe paddles b/c it is light yet strong and resilient. It also resists rot fairly well.

As a woodworker, I can say it works easily and takes a good finish, too. Grows nice and straight, as you must know...good saw logs! Would make a nice timber frame.

It seems to dry fairly fast, so shrinkage may be a concern in timber joinery. Anyone else have thoughts on that?

Don Perkins
Member, TFG

to know the trees...

Re: Working with White Ash [Re: OurBarns1] #19241 04/15/09 11:58 PM
T
TIMBEAL Offline
T
I have a 26'x8"x12" ash beam as a bottom cord in a multi king post truss over my spill way into my mill. This is the only stick of ash I have worked and I recall no problems working it, it is stable as well, and no major checks, unlike some of the spruce used in the same truss.

Tim

Re: Working with White Ash [Re: TIMBEAL] #19258 04/16/09 01:00 PM
Michael Cummings Offline