Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Is this barn worth saving? #20131 06/04/09 06:36 PM
J
JoeB Offline OP
OP Offline
J
Hi Guys, my brother bought a piece of land which included an old house and barn. The house and barn are a bit of a mess, his initial though was to tear everything down and build new (he’s building an office). He’s now considering trying to salvage the barn, maybe put a frost wall under it, replace the sills, insulate it, etc and use it as his office. He asked me to look at it as I have some timberframing experience. I took a timberframing class, built the 12’ x 16’ “Sobon Shed”, a 28’ x 36 barn with a 12’ x 36’ shed addition and have volunteered my services with area timber framers to gain additional experience. I do not profess to be an expert by any means.

My initial thought in looking at the barn is that it’s not worth trying to save. I looked at it yesterday and went out today to take some additional measurements. A few stats:

Dimensions of Barn: 38’ x 46’
Four Bents spaced about 15’ 4” apart
I don’t know the roof pitch, maybe 8/12 or possibly 9/12
About 15.5’ feet from the ground to the eaves

Timber Dimensions

Tie Beams: 6.5” x 7”
Exterior posts: 5” x 7” (the rafters bear on the 5” face)
Interior posts: 5” x 7”, some additional timbers scabbed to the side of these at some point
Principal Rafters: 7.5” x 7.5”
Common Rafters: 3” x 5”
Top Plate: 6” x 7”, scarf joint at midpoint

Not sure when the frame was built, maybe between 1820 and 1850?. It’s not scribe rule, looks like square rule to me. Many of the timbers are hand hewn but the common rafters and top plate are sawn. It looks like the place has been hacked up several times, I would doubt that all the timbers were original.

There are a lot of band-aids holding the frame together. A few thoughts that I had: