Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Which one is better Hundegger or Krusi? #20401 06/18/09 04:12 PM
C
cedar Offline OP
OP Offline
C
I am fascinated by the CNC Timber Frame joinery equipment. But I have no experience with any of them. Which one is the better system to go with the Hundegger K2 or the Krusimatic G1?
How much maintainence do they need? How accurate are their joints? Is it hard to learn how to use them? Will they put the traditionalists out of business? Can they do things to fancy up the looks of the timbers? They are marvelous pieces of engineering and computer technology.

Re: Which one is better Hundegger or Krusi? [Re: cedar] #20411 06/19/09 12:23 AM
C
cedar Offline OP
OP Offline
C
True Joy & Mastery of the Craft comes from owning a Krusi G1. Does anyone agree with my new tag-line?

Re: Which one is better Hundegger or Krusi? [Re: cedar] #20416 06/19/09 09:57 AM
T
TIMBEAL Offline
T
Originally Posted By: cedar
Will they put the traditionalists out of business?

I believe this has been discussed before, the result was, no. It will actually give the traditionalists an edge over the mass producers.

http://www.krusi.com/

It looks like a slick machine. What is the cost of such a machine? Do you have the clientele to back the machine? Do you want to work for the machine or your neighbor?

Just for the record, I am not bashing the machine, I run enough machinery in my small shop to qualify as a machine run shop, sawmill, edger, forklift, self loader, excavator, tractor, truck, etc, I am working for the machine.

I hope someone will chime in with some more sound answers for you.

Tim

Re: Which one is better Hundegger or Krusi? [Re: cedar] #20432 06/20/09 01:54 AM
T
Timber Goddess Offline
T
Hi, cedar -
I'll do what I can to give you a few answers

Which one is the better system to go with the Hundegger K2 or the Krusimatic G1?

I have only operated the K2, so that's where my knowledge is.

How much maintainence do they need?