Rate Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Re: scarf under a kingpost [Re: Don P] #21101 09/04/09 03:51 PM
B
bmike Offline
B
Originally Posted By: Don P

I'd be appreciative if Mike made me cry laugh

I see I'm getting a bad rap here on the forums!
No crying or whining! wink

Don - that is a cool web based link. Have to spend some time with it a bit - but the description looks like it would be fun to play around with.

I have access to MultiFrame 2D - so I usually just export my 3D model to stick lines and use that program to study the loading, wind, piece sizes, etc.

Again - I'm no engineer - but can get far enough along...

Mike Beganyi Design and Consulting, LLC.
www.mikebeganyi.com
Re: scarf under a kingpost [Re: bmike] #21102 09/04/09 04:47 PM
mo Offline OP
OP Offline
Will T, thanks for the reference to panel point. Gotcha.

Mike B, Timbeal,

yea I guess I could find one, it would actually be a 36' considering the length past the post.

Gabel, Thanks for the compliment. I like the idea of plumb purlins and possibly a beam in the same vertical plane to Xbrace.
I took your advice about the X bracing between kp's. Wrought iron, ofcourse!

Timbeal, I don't like the strut mortises above the tenon either. I think Mike B suggestion of housing with no tenon might make sense as those are in compression. Put a screw in there, or maybe some more banding.

Ken, I like the idea of the timber count, that makes sense. I have added some wings that I think would stabilize those posts some more. They are braced at the bottom 3rd. Does this help the issue?

Mike, what file extension is your analysis program compatible with? Would you be willing to plug it in?

Built these wings, for concealed space for band and engineers, electrical area, etc. Talked to my brother (sound engineer) about the acoustics.