Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Re: span question [Re: daiku] #21077 09/03/09 02:12 PM
B
bmike Offline
B
Originally Posted By: daiku
He has a FREE program that generates them. Evangelize him, Mike!

Its from Google.
Its free.
It is called SketchUp.

And Clark has written some cool utilities when you want to 3D model complete joinery and generate shop drawings... and label your parts, export lists to drop into Excel spreadsheets for estimating...

The only function it lacks is to help me lose 20 pounds and get faster on the bike. wink

Mike Beganyi Design and Consulting, LLC.
www.mikebeganyi.com
Re: span question [Re: BJC] #21078 09/03/09 02:16 PM
B
bmike Offline
B
Originally Posted By: BJC
Some of these I know from modern stick framing but others (like KP?) I'm still learning.

KP = King Post, typically a solo post centered in a truss that runs to a ridge or the peak, usually ending at a tie or lower chord

QP = Queen Posts, usually paired posts dividing a truss span, both running to either principle purlins or to principle truss rafters.

www.mikebeganyi.com
Re: span question [Re: BJC] #21079 09/03/09 02:33 PM
Tom Cundiff Offline
Originally Posted By: BJC

You know, even though I am now beginning to read some books on TF and learn the lingo, it would be really helpful I one of those diagrams had each piece labeled with their proper name - i.e. tie, KP, ridge, strut, etc. Some of these I know from modern stick framing but others (like KP?) I'm still learning.

Thanks

This glossary first appeared in TIMBER FRAMING 68, June 2003.
Glossary of Terms.pdf

Not all who wander are lost.
Re: span question [Re: BJC] #21119 09/07/09 02:41 AM
B
BJC Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Thanks guys,
I have the glossary now and I'm downloading the program.