Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Kerfing #21771 11/16/09 06:57 PM
F
Free State Offline OP
OP Offline
F
We currently kerf the face of boxed heart material that is covered by a exterior wall or floor to control the check. The kerf is 1/2" deep located in the center of the timber. We discount the width of the mortise from the width of the timber for all our calculations. Do I need to futher reduce the size of the timber for the kerf cut?

Re: Kerfing [Re: Free State] #21775 11/18/09 03:21 AM
mo Offline
hiya freestate,

wish there were more of those.

I am no engineer, but if you take away the surface area in the level plane (im assuming load capacity), I think you have it right.

Tell me, has the "relieving groove" been working?

Later,

mo

Re: Kerfing [Re: mo] #21776 11/18/09 11:56 AM
T
TIMBEAL Offline
T
Yes an interesting question for the fact if you force the check will it continue along the kerf into the pith. But if you let it naturally occur it is spread out, as in, not in a continues crack in the same plane. We are told the natural checks are not a serious defect, but could a forced check be? In a post I would suspect not, but a load carrying beam maybe.

On the other hand a check has no material removed from the section, it is just rived. Where a mortice or peg hole has removed wood from the section, this needs to be accounted for. Is the 1/8"x1/2" enough to be calculated and inserted into the equation? Maybe.

Tim

Re: Kerfing [Re: TIMBEAL] #21777 11/18/09 03:22 PM
Thane O'Dell Offline
Correct me if I'm wrong.
If the kerf is in the top side of a beam then it is in the compression zone and a 1/8x1/2" kerf in there would have little or no impact on the strength of a beam.

Life is short so put your heart into something that will last a long time.
Re: Kerfing [Re: Thane O'Dell] #21780 11/18/09 09:02 PM
M
Mark Davidson Offline
M