Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
General repair practices questions. #22156 12/29/09 06:22 PM
B
Barnmover Offline OP
OP Offline
B
I have an old barn (early 1900's) I have just moved to my property. It is timber frame type and needs some repairs and the addition of a rear wall. I am not new to woodworking and I have been studying how the other walls are made. I have some material from another pulled down barn that I intend to use for the repairs. My question is regarding general fit. On well dried oak do you need interference fits on the joints before pegging and do I drill the peg hole slightly off center to pull the joints together firmer. On my joint I can drill both pieces together or drill one part, mark the center on the other piece, and drill off center and then assemble and drive in the pin. Ideally I should be able to put the pin in shear. Which of the two methods is typically used for repairs. This is my first attempt at peg and beam joints so any wisdom or nifty tricks on the subject would be appreicated.

Re: General repair practices questions. [Re: Barnmover] #22157 12/29/09 06:53 PM
J
Jim Rogers Offline
J
Originally Posted By: Barnmover
On well dried oak do you need interference fits on the joints before pegging and do I drill the peg hole slightly off center to pull the joints together firmer?

I'm not sure what you mean by "interference fits" on the joints. We were taught that the new piece and the old piece should fit exactly together with no gaps first. Then bore one set of holes in one piece while they are apart, usually the piece with the mortise. Next, put the joint together and run the drill in the hole and poke the tip into the other piece and use this location for the beginning of the off-set for your draw bore hole. After, assemble your joint and put the tapered peg in and it will pull the joint together for you very snuggly.