Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
make your own sips #22706 02/17/10 03:10 PM
R
rfriend Offline OP
OP Offline
R
I am a timber frame hobbyist and would like to make my own sips for the roof and gable ends of a log cabin and for a restored barn. I can get all the material but I would like to know what type of glue to use and what type of press I should use.

Re: make your own sips [Re: rfriend] #22710 02/17/10 06:56 PM
T
timberwrestler Offline
T
I don't think that literally making your own sips would work that well. But there's another option that gives you almost the same result, and is much easier.

It's usually called wrap and strap. For example on a roof, you could lay down your interior finish, rigid foam sheets over that, spray foam the seams, tar paper, and put 2x strapping over that, screwed through the foam with Oly type screws into the rafters or purlins. The variations are endless with interior finishes, types of foam, solid sheathing on the outside, or vertical strapping for siding. Just make sure you get a good seal between your sheets. Framing details for rake and eave overhangs need to be thought out as well.

Re: make your own sips [Re: timberwrestler] #22713 02/17/10 11:11 PM
R
rfriend Offline OP
OP Offline
R
thanks so much, that sounds exactly what I'd like to do. Is there somewhere that I can get more detailed instructions? thanks
Raymond

Re: make your own sips [Re: rfriend] #22715 02/18/10 01:33 AM
T
TIMBEAL Offline
T
Here is a pdf on the topic, I would give credit to whoever it was that posted it a while back, but I don't recall who. It is detailed, I use a simplified system very similar to this.

http://sustainable.cchrc.org/docs/REMOTE_Manual.pdf

Tim

Re: make your own sips [Re: TIMBEAL] #22727 02/19/10 02:11 PM
J
Jim Rogers Offline
J
A timber framing company, friend of mine, in Maine made his own panel press using hydraulic rams and a electric pump.