Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
working the wood? #23270 04/08/10 02:41 AM
C
collarandhames Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Hi all. I'm a licenced general carpenter, trying to make the switch to timberframing, and am feeling these days like I'm missing something important in understanding the way that wood works. I can cut accurately with the mortice machine, and all the saws, but when it comes to chisel work, the results are sometimes less than spectacular. Can anyone recommend "the" book that will help me understand how to work the wood? Use the grain to my advantage? Deal with nasty knots?
Thanks
dave

Re: working the wood? [Re: collarandhames] #23271 04/08/10 03:02 AM
T
TIMBEAL Offline
T
I am not sure you can find what you are looking for in a book. Time will reveal all. As for those pesky knots, allow a tad more time in lay out mode to avoid joinery in the tough spots.

What exactly is the issue with the chisel work?

Have you hand planed much? Notice how the grain will rip out when you push the plane the "wrong" way. At times you will see this from one side of the timber to the other, you have to push it on the left and pull it on the right. I find cleaning the sides of mortices the grain can be off from one side to the other. Just change angle and proceed, I can see it some times with out putting the edge into the wood, more frequently I dig in and test then work with what I am dealt. I call it pat the cat.

Tim

Re: working the wood? [Re: TIMBEAL] #23272 04/08/10 12:38 PM
daiku Offline
Do you have the right chisel? Is it dangerously sharp? It should be. And remember, this is skilled work, and takes practice. CB.

--
Clark Bremer
Minneapolis
Proud Member of the TFG
Re: working the wood? [Re: TIMBEAL] #23273 04/08/10 12:39 PM
mo Offline
Pat the Cat or Pet the Cat? I like that, good metaphor.