Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Buying Japanese chisels #27760 12/09/11 11:03 PM
treizea Offline OP
OP Offline
I was recently at a tool fair in Miki, Japan, and was shopping for chisels. Got a few chisels and after buying a slick, kind of noticed a guy who went from store store checking out slicks. He looked like a pro, and kept going to the same store and finally bought two slicks that were twice as much as I paid for mine. They looked the same to me.

I am new to timber framing and tools, so what should one look for when buying chisels?

I also noticed that some chisels look like they are made with "black steel" and others with white steel ( looked like stainless steel). The white steel seems to be more expensive is it correct? Why?

If the white steel is harder, can it still be sharpened with water stones?

Sharpening is also an art that I would love to master.

Serge

Last edited by treizea; 12/09/11 11:10 PM.
Re: Buying Japanese chisels [Re: treizea] #27767 12/12/11 07:59 AM
C
Cecile en Don Wa Offline
C
Hello,

If you are still there you can better be on the look out for items you can get that are not so readily available outside of Japan. Second hand chouna and ono for example. There is also a much wider range of saw choice there than what you will be able to find once you are away.
Blue paper and white paper steels simply refer to make-up of the metal used for the cutting edge rather than an indication of appearance and whether you mean artificial or natural water stones, either are compatible for sharpening both. And you are right, sharpening as conceived of in Japan is closer to an art.

Greetings,

Don Wagstaff

Re: Buying Japanese chisels [Re: Cecile en Don Wa] #27776 12/13/11 04:08 AM
C
Chris Hall Offline
C
Serge,