Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
I am just a modeler #27923 01/13/12 06:55 PM
T
TSPCo Offline OP
OP Offline
T
I was referred here form a site in the UK. I have done a couple of models using TF. I have a habit of making sure the components in my models are correct, mainly for appearance's sake.
I have not found a resource to suggest proper spacing on the trusses, columns, and connector beams.
Does such a thing exist?

Re: I am just a modeler [Re: TSPCo] #27925 01/14/12 01:44 AM
Dave Shepard Offline
When I build a model I scale off of the prints for the frame.

Here is the first Dutch barn model:

http://youtu.be/6mcIrlYBua8

Last edited by Dave Shepard; 01/14/12 01:44 AM.

Member, Timber Framers Guild
Re: I am just a modeler [Re: Dave Shepard] #27929 01/15/12 12:51 PM
T
TIMBEAL Offline
T
Bent spacing can be derived at from a number of possibilities. As Dave mentions from the prints. Geometry is another method. The length of the frame could simply be divided up equally, on centers or to reference faces, each method would yield different girt lengths. Bent spacing could be formed via tradition, this is the spacing I use, it is how I was taught and I don't vary from it. Houses were spaced differently than utility building. I wonder how the Swiss may have spaced their bents?

Re: I am just a modeler [Re: TIMBEAL] #27930 01/15/12 01:31 PM
K
Ken Hume Offline
K
Hi,

I think that you might well be searching for the Holy Grail !

I am not aware of anyone undertaking a statistically significant study that establishes an exactitude for cross frame [bent] spacing. The geometric approach as promoted by Laurie Smith does work in some cases but I rather suspect that economy of use based on available timber lengths and efficient utilisation of same is likely to have been the real deciding factor in determining cross frame spacing.

Which UK site referred you to this knowledge portal ?

Regards

Ken Hume

Last edited by Ken Hume; 01/15/12 01:32 PM.