Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
TFRubies scarf joint #28129 02/12/12 10:00 PM
J
Jon Senior Offline OP
OP Offline
J
OK. I'm new to TFRubies (and toying with the idea of buying the book... I just try to avoid having stuff shipped from the US to Europe, especially paper!) and while it's mostly making sense and working out, my first attempt at a scarf joint is failing quite spectacularly. I've put a copy on one of my many sites

(http://hoovesofdestiny.co.uk/Beam-200x250.skp)

I'm fairly sure that I've done everything right. Right clicking on the joint part lists it as "TF ID: Joint", but it doesn't appear to be cutting completely as you can see if you put it up against another copy of itself.

Any suggestions? Do I need to make a "shoulder" for the joint in order for it to be complete?

Thanks in advance for any help provided. I'm looking forward to transferring my design from AC3D (which was OK for visualising it, but rubbish for problem-solving).

Re: TFRubies scarf joint [Re: Jon Senior] #28131 02/13/12 02:33 AM
T
tomstaplez Offline
T
I was also trying to figure out this problem months ago, but I gave up. So I just drew both ends separately.

It works perfect like this of course but that doesn't help.

Last edited by tomstaplez; 02/13/12 02:41 AM.

Store images/videos/sketchup files/ect online. Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/tMsg9k4
Re: TFRubies scarf joint [Re: tomstaplez] #28133 02/13/12 03:35 AM
B
bmike Offline
B
Not sure what a scarf joInt ruby gets you. Typically a scarf is the same on both halves. I've never tried to use a Ruby for a scarf - just draw the 2 timbers with the ends like you need to mate up and do a shop drawing. Better still to do a single component with just the lines and indication of where the scarf should be.

Re: TFRubies scarf joint [Re: bmike] #28137 02/13/12 09:21 AM
J
Jon Senior Offline OP
OP Offline
J