Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
splicing beams #29208 06/17/12 02:17 PM
C
Cory Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Hi, I'm new to construction but am trying to build a timber framed garage. I have 6x6 posts and 6x10 beams which I need to join over the posts. I was thinking a lap joint. What is the easiest joint to make over the post and what length should each lap be? Should the joint be directly over the post or should it carry over beyond the post? Any diagram or photo would greatly help. Thank you.

Re: splicing beams [Re: Cory] #29210 06/18/12 12:56 AM
R
Roger W Nair Offline
R
Hi Cory

Have a look at the following in Part Six Scarfs for an overview on a variety of scarfs, their relative merits and locations.

http://www.tfguild.org/joinery/joinery.html

Re: splicing beams [Re: Roger W Nair] #29215 06/18/12 04:06 PM
C
Cory Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Thank you. I have a timber framing book by Jack Sobon which has been very helpful. I guess I'm not trying to actually splice a beam but rather join two beams over a post and am looking for the easiest way to do it. I was going to do a lap joint in the beams over each post. I was looking for a diagram or measuremnent of where the joint placement should be. I know I should have each beam resting on the post but how many inches of beam should be supported by the post? If I just butted them up together I would have 3" of each beam on a post. With a lap joint how big should the laps be? Should each lap be 3"? I hope this isn't written to be too confusing?

Re: splicing beams [Re: Cory] #29216 06/18/12 07:53 PM
B
bmike Offline
B
Cory,

This is what we are doing at an upcoming TFG workshop.
Whatever solution you choose, you need to make sure it works for your design loads, brace locations, etc. If you have any questions you should find an engineer or local timber framer to guide you through the process.

-Mike

Last edited by bmike; 06/18/12 07:54 PM.

Mike Beganyi Design and Consulting, LLC.
www.mikebeganyi.com