Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Photo of Carpenters and Kits [Re: Roger W Nair] #29774 10/28/12 04:27 PM
D Wagstaff Offline
Hello,

I was waiting for that one because I'm no Stanley expert, (I own a Clifton version, new though) Miller Falls also made one - don't know who was first. It looks like one of the basic combination planes. Would that be a 45 or 55 since one was more elaborate than the other? Since your focused down there you might as well know that the shoe question gets more puzzling with the discovery of yet another pair of loose shoes. Huh- with one pair I thought it odd but maybe a fluke, but two pair of shoes nobody is wearing? What does that mean?

Maybe Roger is wise to stick to the objective evidence but to me the two outer members of the crew clearly share DNA.

Could the type of fence help with location? Maybe not unrelated to a date in time either.

Greetings,

Don Wagstaff

Make that 3 pair of shoes if I'm not wrong, for a total of 6 shoes - and counting.

Last edited by D Wagstaff; 10/28/12 04:40 PM. Reason: Additional facts revealed.
Re: Photo of Carpenters and Kits [Re: D Wagstaff] #29777 11/02/12 11:46 PM
R
Roger W Nair Offline OP
OP Offline
R
So where are these guys? The split rail fence indicates a district with native woodlands, almost anywhere in the Eastern States up to the Plains. The evident success of the crew suggests to me high growth industrial towns nearby. So I'm guessing in a very wide corridor somewhere between Philadelphia and Chicago. Can anyone focus on the location?

They are setup for a wide variety of work ie timber frame, full frame and balloon frame to finish. Two miter boxes and full kit for all indicates high production.

Re: Photo of Carpenters and Kits [Re: Roger W Nair] #29778 11/03/12 12:25 PM
W
Will_T Offline
W
Hey Roger -

I do like photographic mysteries like this related to the trade and its variations...