Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Restoring a 200+ year old roof #30283 02/12/13 09:07 PM
C
chrisr Offline OP
OP Offline
C
I am an engineer currently working on repairing the roof of a house on a plantation in Louisiana built around 1800. They want to reuse as much original timber as possible, but some of the members will have to be replaced because of large cracks, splits, rot, etc. The house has relatively long overhangs that have gradually sagged at the corners over the years to the point that temporary braces were built under them to keep the roof from falling apart. I can size the roof members using cypress with today's grades, but I have little knowledge of what kind of stress grades to use on the existing 200+ year old members that still appear to be useable. I realize that this was built well before timber was regulated, but I still need to determine or assume some strength value for them. Any suggestions? Also, some of the existing sizes are overstressed using today's codes. Is there some kind of gray area code wise that applies to historic buildings like this that are only used as a sort of museum or do they have to meet the most recent code standards like any other building?

Re: Restoring a 200+ year old roof [Re: chrisr] #30284 02/12/13 09:46 PM
Jay White Cloud Offline
Hi Chris,

Historical variances are regional and site specific. Some states-municipalities are real supportive, other not so much. As a historical barn wright I see frames often that I'm told don't work or can't meet code, (bumblebees can't fly syndrome is what we call it in the trade.) Frame stood strong for two hundred year the way it was built, but now you can't build it that way because it isn't strong enough and will fall down? Consulting with one of the P.E. that are part of the TFG and have experience with historical timber frames could help. Give a call or email, should you need more info. Pictures would really help in understanding the frame better.

Regards,

jay